SLC Announces All-Time Cross Country Honor Roll

Lauren Smith

Oct. 29, 2013

FRISCO, Texas – The Southland Conference, as part of its year-long 50th Anniversary commemoration, has announced its All-Time Men’s and Women’s Cross Country Honor Roll. The announcement comes prior to the Southland’s 50th Men’s and 29th Women’s Cross Country Championships, to be held Friday, Nov. 1, in Lake Charles, La.

The honor roll includes 65 elite student-athletes, 45 men and 20 women, that have impacted the sport since the league began sponsorship of the sports in 1964 (men) and 1985 (women). All Southland meet champions are recognized on the honor roll. Additionally, eight men’s and women’s coaches were recognized for their historic contributions to the sport.

“The Southland Conference has a rich tradition in cross country throughout our history, and we’re pleased to recognize such an illustrious honor roll of great student-athletes and coaches,” league commissioner Tom Burnett said.

Each of the SLC men’s and women’s meet champions is included on the Honor Roll. In all, SFA had seven athletes and one coach recognized on the all-time list. The Women’s champions included Renee Rowell (1990) Ana Rodriguez (2002, 2003), Ashley Monteau (2004, 2005) and Lauren Smith (2011, 2012). Men’s champions included Cody Clark (2005) Michael Thompson (2003), and Nathan Flores (2002). Clark now coaches Cross Country at SFA.

Other outstanding SLC coaches have included Stephen F. Austin’s Lou Snelling led his men’s (2003, 2004, 2005) and women’s (2003, 2009, 2010) teams to six crowns.

Southland Conference 50th Anniversary
All-time Cross Country Honor Roll

Men’s Team (45)

Cody Clark, Stephen F. Austin
2005 Champion; 2005 Athlete of the Year

Michael Thompson, Stephen F. Austin
2003 Champion; 2003 Athlete of the Year; Finished 37th at 2003 NCAA Championship Meet

Nathan Flores, Stephen F. Austin
2002 Champion; 2002 Athlete of the Year; Participated in 2003 NCAA Championship Meet

Women’s Team (20)

Ashley Monteau, Stephen F. Austin
2004 and 2005 Champion; Participated in 2004 (finished 75th) and 2005 (90th) NCAA Championship Meets; Set Southland Championship record for 6000-Meters course (20:24.27 in 2004)

Ana Rodriguez, Stephen F. Austin
2002 and 2003 Champion

Renee Rowell, Stephen F. Austin
1990 Champion

Lauren Smith, Stephen F. Austin
2011 and 2012 Champion; Participated in 2012 NCAA Championship Meet; 2010 Newcomer of the Year


Lou Snelling, Stephen F. Austin
Earned three Southland Men’s Coach of the Year Awards (2003, 2004, 2005) while leading Lumberjacks to league championships, and three Women’s Coach of the Year honors (2003, 2009 and 2010) as Ladyjacks won crowns in 2003 and 2010



Get your official SFA Gear!