Olson Named To Johnny Bench Award Watch List

Joseph Olson was named to the 2014 Johnny Bench Award watch list.

March 7, 2014

WICHITA, Kan. - Stephen F. Austin sophomore catcher Joseph Olson was named the watch list for the 2014 Johnny Bench Award presented by BaseballSavings.com, announced the Greater Wichita Area Sports Commission on Thursday. Seventy-two catchers were nominated for the award by their coaches.

“Joe has done a great job improving to the point where he is getting national attention,” head coach Johnny Cardenas said. “His work ethic and attention to detail has made him one of the best in our conference, but also in the nation.”

The Johnny Bench award is given annually to the top division one collegiate catcher, as nominated by their head coaches. Olson is coming off a solid redshirt freshman campaign, currently hitting .256 while anchoring the backstop for the Lumberjacks this season. As a sophomore, Olson has appreared and started in all 10 games for SFA, currently hitting .256 on the year. The native of Waco, Texas, currently leads the team with 60 putouts with just one error.

“Words can’t really describe how honored and blessed I am for being on the Johnny Bench Award watch list,” Olson said. “God is so good. However, this is not an individual accomplishment. This is a program accomplishment. The coaches have helped me grow as a catcher tremendously and the cast of teammates has helped push me. Without them, this is not possible.

“This is very humbling and will push me to be a better teammate and do whatever I can to help us win.”

The watch list will be narrowed down to the semifinalists, whom will be announced May 15, 2014. Ballots will be sent to the national voting panel at the end of May for a vote to determine the three finalists. The finalists will be announced June 3, 2014. A final vote among the national committee will occur during the College World Series. All finalists will be brought to Wichita and the winner will be announced at the 17th Annual Greater Wichita Sports Banquet on June 26, 2014.

Olson and the ‘Jacks begin a three game series at Wichita State on Friday, Mar. 7, before returning to Jacyees Field to open Southland Conference play on Mar. 14 against McNeese State.


2014 Johnny Bench Award Watch List

Will Allen, SR, University of Mississippi
Blake Austin, SR, Auburn University

Brett Austin, JR, North Carolina State University

Anthony Azar, SR, Sam Houston State University

Tyler Baker, JR, Wichita State University

Caleb Barker, SR, University of Houston

John Bormann, JR, UT San Antonio

Austin Bossart, JR, University of Pennsylvania

Garrett Boulware, JR, Clemson University

John Crummy, SR, Miami University

Jose Cruz, SR, Jackson State University

Jared Deacon, SR, Cal State Fullerton

Blair DeBord, SR, Kansas State University

Dustin Dhanani, JR, Alabama A&M University

Matt Durst, JR, University of Southern Mississippi
Ka'iana Eldredge, SR, University of Kansas

Alex Farkes, SR, Penn State

Mike Fischer, SR, Columbia University

Aramis Garcia, JR, Florida International University

Mitch Ghelfi, SO, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Kyle Gibson, SR, University of Louisville

Richard Gonzalez, JR, Alabama State University
Grayson Greiner, JR, University of South Carolina

Aaron Gretz, JR, Ohio State Unversity

Chase Griffin, JR, Georgia Southern University

Taylor Gushue, JR, University of Florida

Sean Hagen, SR, Eastern Kentucky University

Chris Harvey, JR, Vanderbilt University

Ryan Hissey, SO, The College of William & Mary

Nate Irving, JR, University of Virginia

Connor Joe, JR, University of San Diego

TJ Losby, SR, Bowling Green State University

Tanner Lubach, JR, University of Nebraska

Adam Martin, SR, Western Carolina University

Cole Martin, SR, University of Michigan

Kevin Martir, SO, University of Maryland

Ryan Matranga, SO, University of San Francisco

Greg McCall, SR, University of Texas-Arlington

Max McDowell, SO, University of Connecticut

Ryan Messex, JR, Western Kentucky University

Levi Meyer, SR, Florida Atlantic University

Taylor Noyer, SR, New Mexico State University

Brian O'Keefe, JR, Saint Joesph's University

Brian Olson, JR, Seattle University

Joseph Olson, SO, Stephen F. Austin University

Tyler Pearson, SR, Texas State University

Max Pentecost, JR, Kennesaw State University

Taylor Peterson, SR, University of North Dakota

Jordan Procyshen, JR, Northern Kentucky University

Pat Quinn, SR, University of Rhode Island

Alex Real, JR, University of New Mexico

Josh Reavis, SR, Radford University

Matt Reed, FR, Marshall University

Jamie Ritchie, JR, Belmont University

Daniel Rizzie, SO, Xavier University

Joey Roach, SO, Georgia State University

Mike Rosenfeld, JR, Duke University

Kyle Schwarber, JR, Indiana University

Adam Sonabend, SR, Eastern Michigan University

Josh Spano, JR, High Point University

Garrett Stubbs, JR, University of Southern California

Brett Sunde, SO, Western Michigan University

Wayne Taylor, JR, Stanford University

Travis Watkins, SO, East Carolina University

Luke Weber, SR, USC Upstate

Carter White, JR, University of Memphis

Mike Wieland, SR, University of Arkansas Pine Bluff

Samm Wiggins, JR, Houston Baptist University

Matt Winn, JR, Virginia Military Institute

Mark Zagunis, JR, Virginia Tech

Shane Zeile, JR, University of California, Los Angeles


Get your official SFA Gear!