Smith Named To NABC All-District First Team

Taylor Smith averaged 15.7 points and 9.2 rebounds in 2012-13.

March 26, 2013

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - The National Association of Basketball Coaches of America recently announced the NABC Division I All-District teams for 2012-13, with Stephen F. Austin senior Taylor Smith being named to the District 23 first team.

Smith led SFA to its third Southland Conference title in 2013, helping the `Jacks to a 27-5 record and a berth in the NIT. He was named the Southland Conference Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year, leading the `Jacks in scoring (15.7 ppg), rebounds (9.2 rpg) and blocked shots (2.8 bpg).

He also led the nation in field-goal percentage (.694) and closed out his two-year SFA career as the program's all-time shot blocker with 132 rejections for his career. Smith totaled a dozen double-doubles for the year as well, scoring in double figures in 29 of SFA's 32 games.

Smith is joined on the first team by Damen Bell-Holter and Warren Niles (Oral Roberts), Brandon Fortenberry (Southeastern La.) and Omar Strong (Texas Southern). The second team consists of Derick Beltran (Southern), Fred Hunter (Nicholls), DeQuan Hicks (Northwestern State), Malcolm Miller (Southern) and Demarquelle Tabb (Alabama A&M).

There are 24 districts in the country with the 242 players named to the teams becoming automatically eligible for all-America honors.



Get your official SFA Gear!