The Official Home of Stephen F. Austin Athletics

    Haymon, Parker Named To Preseason All-SLC Teams
    Desmond Haymon and Jacob Parker were each chosen to the preseason All-SLC teams announced Wednesday.
    Desmond Haymon and Jacob Parker were each chosen to the preseason All-SLC teams announced Wednesday.

    Oct. 23, 2013

    FRISCO, Texas – Senior Desmond Haymon and junior Jacob Parker were each named to the preseason All-Southland Conference teams for the Stephen F. Austin Lumberjack basketball team, conference officials announced on Wednesday.

    Haymond was SFA’s lone representative on the preseason first team, while Parker earned second team recognition.

    Haymon averaged 10.6 points and 4.9 rebounds in 32 games last year for the 'Jacks and earned a spot on the all-tournament team after averaging 19.5 points in two tournament games. An honorable mention all-conference selection last year, Haymon scored 23 points in the championship game. The Pickens, Miss., native, finished the year hitting double figures in each of his last seven contests and averaged 12.1 points per game in his final 12 games of the season.

    Parker is the second-leading returning scorer for the SFA. The Bixby, Okla., native, averaged 7.2 points to go with 4.3 rebounds a season ago. Parker scored a career-high 16 points on two separate occasions, which included a win at Tulsa. He scored in double figures 10 times.

    Haymon and Parker highlight the defending SLC champion 'Jacks that will compete in a record 14-team field in the league with the additions of Houston Baptist, New Orleans, Abilene Christian and UIW, though the two latter teams will not play a full conference schedule this season or be eligible for postseason play until 2017-18. The 51st season of SLC basketball begins Friday, Nov. 8 when eight teams hit the hardwood. Conference doesn’t start until Thursday, Jan. 2, 2014. The SLC tournament returns to the Leonard E. Merrell Center in Katy, Texas for the seventh consecutive season, March 12-15.

    SFA, under first-year head coach Brad Underwood, will open the 2013-14 schedule with an exhibition versus Arkansas Tech Nov. 1, before taking on UT-Tyler on Nov. 8.

    First Team
    DeQuan Hicks (Northwestern State); Shawn Glover (Oral Roberts); Jalan West (Northwestern State); Desmond Haymon (Stephen F. Austin); John Jordan (A&M-Corpus Christi). 

    Second Team
    Desharick Guidry (McNeese State); James Thomas (Sam Houston State); Kevin Hardy (McNeese State); Dantrell Thomas (Nicholls); Jacob Parker (Stephen F. Austin).