The Official Home of Stephen F. Austin Athletics

    Four 'Jacks Among Southland All-Academic Team
    Sophomore Aaron Thomas was a repeat selection to the Southland Conference All-Academic Team
    Sophomore Aaron Thomas was a repeat selection to the Southland Conference All-Academic Team

    Jan. 7, 2014

    NACOGDOCHES, Texas -- The 2013 Southland Conference All-Academic football team was announced today by the league office with four Lumberjacks being named among those recognized, tied for the second-most of any institution.

    Senior offensive lineman Ryne Chambers and sophomore wide receiver Aaron Thomas were repeat selections with junior defensive lineman Ismiah Miles and junior kicker Jordan Wiggs earning their first All-Academic team recognition.

    Chambers receives his second academic recognition in a week as the Nashville, Ark., native was named to the FCS ADA Academic All-Star team last week. A two-time All-Southland Conference performer, Chambers closed out his SFA career with 25 starts in 43 career games on the offensive line and boasts a 3.62 GPA, majoring in kinesiology.

    Miles was a constant on the SFA defensive line this past season, finishing the season with 41 tackles, including 18 unassisted stops, 11.5 tackles for loss and five sacks. The Sachse native holds a 3.31 GPA in finance and was one of four defensive linemen named to the team.

    Thomas is a repeat selection to the All-Academic team as the Burnet native has a 3.52 GPA, majoring in international business. An honorable mention All-SLC selection, Thomas had a breakout season by recording 40 catches for 719 yards and four touchdowns, including setting the program record with his 242-yard performance against Prairie View A&M.

    Wiggs continued to establish his reputation as one of the conference's top kickers, racking up 99 points on the year en route to being named an honorable mention All-SLC selection. The Grand Prairie native currently sits second all-time in program history in career points (267) while maintaining a 3.31 GPA in finance.

    The Southland Conference awards committee, which consists of one administrator from each of the 14 member universities, voted for the student-athlete of the year. The Southland student-athlete of the year award is presented to the one student-athlete who achieves excellence in both academics and athletics. All nominees shall have earned at least a 3.2 GPA on a 4.0 scale, and demonstrated athletics achievement for at least two years at the nominating institution.

    The All-Academic teams are voted on by the head coaches, sports information directors and academic advisors from each Southland Conference university. Student-athletes must possess a 3.0 cumulative GPA, have completed one full academic year at the nominating institution and participated in at least 50 percent of the team’s competition to qualify for the all-academic squad.

    2013 Southland Conference All-Academic Teams

    QB - Brian Bell, Sam Houston State
    WR - Torrance Williams, Sam Houston State
    WR - Aaron Thomas, Stephen F. Austin
    RB - Timothy Flanders, Sam Houston State
    RB - Keshawn Hill, Sam Houston State
    TE - Joe Carmical, Nicholls State
    OL - Arinze Agada, McNeese State
    OL - Joe Graves, Southeastern Louisiana
    OL - Marshal Paris, Southeastern Louisiana
    OL - Warren Jones, Northwestern State
    OL - Ryne Chambers, Stephen F. Austin
    K - Jordan Wiggs, Stephen F. Austin

    DL - Cole Frazier, Nicholls State
    DL - Greg Triay, Southeastern Louisiana
    DL - Ismiah Miles, Stephen F. Austin
    LB - Eric Fieilo, Sam Houston State
    LB - Charles Brown, McNeese State
    DB - Guy Morgan, McNeese State
    DB - Jordan Hanberry, Nicholls State
    DB - Chase Collins, Northwestern State
    DB - John Graves, Southeastern Louisiana
    P - Kolin Kahler, Lamar

    Academic Player of the Year: Kolin Kahler, Lamar