The Official Home of Stephen F. Austin Athletics

    Lumberjack Athletes Honored At Annual Banquet
    Special rings were presented to the 1999 Southland Football League champion Lumberjacks.
    Special rings were presented to the 1999 Southland Football League champion Lumberjacks.

    NACOGDOCHES, Texas - Thirty-three Stephen F. Austin senior athletes were honored Thursday night in the Grand Ballroom of the SFA University Center at the annual Lumberjack Awards Banquet. Seniors from each men's team were honored, and winners of the R.H. "Bob" Shelton Award and the Mart Crawford Award were presented. The Ralph Todd Male Athlete of the Year was also announced at the conclusion of the evening. The ring ceremony for the 1999 Southland Football League champion Lumberjacks preceded the banquet at 5 pm at Homer Bryce Stadium. All underclassmen received their championship ring, while seniors from the 1999 team were presented with their ring during the 6 pm ceremony.

    Killeen, Texas senior Perry Eliano was presented the Ralph Todd as the University's Outstanding Male Athlete. The Lumberjack football strong safety helped lead the team to their first Southland Football League title in ten years this past season as a senior. Eliano also led the team in tackles each of the past two seasons, and was the Defensive MVP in both 1998 and 1999.

    Isiah Stoker, a senior football player from Longview, was named this year's Dick Wright Award winner. The Dick Wright Award is annually presented to the student-athlete that best reflects the characteristics of sportsmanship, dedication and determination. Stoker wrapped up his Lumberjackk football career this past fall by setting the SFA single game srushing record with a 289-yard effort against Jacksonville State. He also finished seventh on the all-time SFA rushing list.

    The Bob Shelton Scholar-Athlete Award was presneted to Lumberjack track athlete Mitch Kies. Kies was a distance runner on the SFA track team and also a member of the cross country team. He recorded five top 20 finishes this past fall for the cross country team. Kies is also a Dean's List student at SFA.

    Killeen, Texas junior Perry Eliano was named the Lumberjack football team's defensive MVP, while Isiah Stoker took the offensive MVP honors. Jay Stegall was named the 2000 recipient of the Cally Belcher Award, and Zach Woods was also named the recipient of the annual Mart Crawford Award.

    Basketball's Emanuel Jackson and Ron Banks took home most of the Lumberjack basketball awards. Banks and Jackson were named Co-Newcomers of the Year by the team. Banks was also named the 2000 recipient of the George Johnson Award. Junior forward Milan Simic was named the recipient of the Buddy Lowery Award for his defensive efforts.


    Ralph Todd Outstanding Male Athlete - Perry Eliano

    R.H. "Bob" Shelton Athletic Award - Mitch Kies

    Dick Wright Memorial Sportsmanship Award - Isiah Stoker

    Cally Belcher Outstanding Football Player - Jay Stegall

    Mart Crawford Football Award - Zach Woods

    Football Offensive MVP - Isiah Stoker

    Football Defensive MVP - Perry Eliano

    Football Special Teams MVP - KaRon Coleman

    George Reese Sr. Memorial Golf Award - Lance Dunaway

    Lumberjack Basketball MVP - Emanuel Jackson

    George Johnson Basketball Award - Ron Banks

    Elvin "Buddy " Lowery Basketball Award - Milan Simic

    Basketball Newcomers of the Year - Emanuel Jackson, & Ron Banks

    Robert Maluski Cross Country Award - Daniel Bledsoe


    Scholar/Athlete Awards:

    Football - Peyton Jones 3.88

    Track and Field - Mitch Kies 3.54