Conque Announces Spring Award Winners

Running back Gus Johnson earned three awards during SFA's Offseason and Spring Football Awards ceremony

May 5, 2014

NACOGDOCHES, Texas - Stephen F. Austin football closed out the spring semester with an Offseason and Spring Awards ceremony Sunday evening. The event will become a yearly occurrence as head coach Clint Conque begins to build his culture among the Lumberjack football program.

"It was a great offseason and spring season and this was our way of recognizing those who bought in to our system and gave it their all," Conque said. "We named each of the awards after key figures in the SFA football program with the intention of tying the tradition of the past to the players of today and it is something I'm excited to begin here at SFA."

Each of the awards were voted on by the members of the Lumberjack coaching staff and were presented at the final team meeting of the spring semester Sunday evening. A number of the award namesakes were on hand to present their respective honor, something Conque hopes to grow in future years.

A full list of the 2014 SFA Football Offseason/Spring Award winners follows, with a brief bio of the award namesakes:

Krazy Jacks
Recognition for excellence in the SFA 2014 spring special teams competition:
Demundre Freeman
Eugene Wright
Rodney Young
Nick Bryant
Travaine Strong
Aaron Doddy
Chase Curry
Braxton Bearden

Mike Wilhite Elite Jack Award
Wilhite played three seasons at SFA, earning both his bachelors and masters degrees. A highly successful businessman that has served on many boards, including the SFA letterman and alumni foundation and board of regents, Wilhite is the son-in-law of the late Homer Bryce and has been a significant financial donor to the program for many years. The award honors the top performers of the 2014 offseason:
Gus Johnson
Bradley Krall
Ishmiah Miles
Zach Conque
Robert Sylvester

Dan Eason Award
Eason has been with the SFA strength and conditioning department for 14 seasons, training and developing scores of Lumberjacks that went on to play in the NFL. Eason also holds a BCS title for his work at the University of Tennessee. The award recognizes outstanding performances in the 2014 offseason:
Cameron Washington
Anthony Pullins
Collin Garrett
• Aaron Piper
• Demundre Freeman
Justice Liggins
Keavon Madison
Lance Skyler
Marquis Mosley
• Nick Bryant
• Rodney Young
Terran Vaughn

Robert Hill Award
Hill has become synonymous with SFA Athletics, being associated with the department for over 25 years and serving as Athletic Director since 2005. During his tenure, SFA has won 35 Southland Conference titles and multiple Commissioners Cups and was named the Under Armour Athletic Director of the Year in 2011. This award recognizes outstanding leadership among offensive players during the 2014 spring practice schedule:
Zach Conque
Gus Johnson
Joe Minden

Steve McCarty Award
McCarty is the long-time Athletic Director at SFA who currently serves as the chairman of the SFA board of regents. Having spent over 20 years associated with the department, McCarty forged SFA Athletics into the modern era of Division I athletics and has a leadership award presented annually in the Southland Conference to a student-athlete from a member institution. This award recognizes outstanding leadership among defensive players during the 2014 spring practice schedule:
Collin Garrett
Keavon Madison

Larry Centers Award
Centers was a two-time All-SLC performer at running back for the `Jacks and was selected in the fifth round of the Phoenix Cardinals in the 1990 NFL Draft. He played 15 seasons in the NFL, being selected to three Pro Bowls and won a Super Bowl championship with New England in 2004, and has 827 career receptions, the most in NFL history for a fullback. The award recognizes outstanding achievements among the offense during the 2014 spring practice schedule:
Aaron Thomas
Byron Williams
Gus Johnson
Travis Wiggins

Jeremiah Trotter Award
Trotter was an All-American linebacker for SFA before being selected in the third round of the 1998 NFL Draft by the Philadelphia Eagles. He played 12 seasons in the NFL, being selected to four Pro Bowls and was a two-time All-Pro selection, accumulating 636 tackles and 12.5 sacks while establishing a reputation as one of the most feared defensive players in the league. The award recognizes outstanding achievements among the defense during the 2014 spring practice schedule:
Collin Garrett
Keavon Madison
Lance Skyler

Mark Moseley Award
Moseley was a three year letterwinning kicker at SFA before being selected by the Philadelphia Eagles in the 14th round of the 1970 NFL Draft. He would go on to play 17 seasons in the NFL, being named to the Pro Bowl three times and was the AP NFL MVP in 1982. Moseley won a Super Bowl title with the Washington Redskins in 1983 and ended his career as the Redskins all-time leading scorer, being inducted into the Redskins Ring of Fame. The award recognizes outstanding achievements among the special teams during the 2014 spring practice schedule:
Demundre Freeman
Joshawa West
Nick Bruno

Jabara Williams Award
Williams was a two-time All-American during his time at SFA, helping lead the `Jacks to a pair of Southland Conference championships. Williams was named the conference's Defensive Player of the Year in 2010 before being drafted in the seventh round of the NFL Draft by the St. Louis Rams and currently plays for the Dallas Cowboys. The award recognizes the most improved player over the course of the 2014 spring football practice schedule:
Rodney Timmons
Donald Bryant
• Nick Bryant
Robert Sylvester
Terran Vaughn

Max Holmes Award
After transferring from LSU in 2008, Holmes started every game at center for SFA. An All-SLC selection, Holmes was also an All-SLC Academic selection before being named the conference's male Scholar Athlete of the Year in 2009 and currently serves as the director of admissions of SFA. The award recognizes outstanding performances among newcomers during the 2014 spring football practice schedule:
• Cameron Washington
Zach Conque
Maurice Poullard

Jim Hess Award
Hess was the former head coach and athletic director for SFA, compiling a 47-30-2 record on the Lumberjack sidelines and remains the all-time winningest coach in program history. Helping make SFA transition from a Division II to a Division I-AA program, Hess went on to become the head coach at New Mexico State as well as a scout for the Dallas Cowboys. This award recognizes the top overall performer during the course of the 2014 spring football practice schedule, selected by head coach Clint Conque:
Robert Sylvester (offense)
Trey Vallier (defense)



Get your official SFA Gear!