The Official Home of Stephen F. Austin Athletics

    '73 Poultry Bowl Champions To Be Recognized At SFA/UCA Game
    SFA defeated Gardner-Webb, 31-10, in the 1973 Poultry Bowl.
    SFA defeated Gardner-Webb, 31-10, in the 1973 Poultry Bowl.

    Sept. 29, 2012

    NACOGDOCHES, Texas - Although homecoming is still a few weeks away, Stephen F. Austin will recognize the 1973 Poultry Bowl champion Lumberjack squad Saturday night at Homer Bryce Stadium. The 1973 squad won its final six regular-season games to receive a bid to the play in the Poultry Bowl, SFA's first postseason appearance in school history. The `Jacks ended the season by recording 31-10 victory over Gardner-Webb.

    SFA utilized an overwhelming option ground attack, led by quarterback Larry Mayer, to defeat Gardner-Webb. Mayer set a single-game school record with 237 yards rushing, as the Lumberjacks rolled up nearly 500 yards of total offense. Mayer, whose rushing mark still stands as the second-best mark in school history, was named offensive player of the game, while SFA's Sam Hunt earned defensive player of the game honors.

    Following the season 12 Lumberjacks earned All-Lone Star Conference honors, including five first-team selections. The first-team honorees included Gordon Booker, Jesse Borner, Steve Cannon, Mark Taylor and Bill Tyler.