SLC Announces 2000's All-Decade Team

Jeremy Moses named SLC's player of the decade for 2000-2009.

Nov. 13, 2013

2000's All-Decade Team Get Acrobat Reader

FRISCO, Texas - The Southland Conference, as part of its year-long 50th Anniversary commemoration, has announced its All-Decade Football Team from the 2000s. The team includes outstanding student-athletes from its member institutions from the 2000 season through 2009, highlighted by eventual 2010 Walton Payton Award winner Jeremy Moses.

A total of 106 former student-athletes make up the 2000s All-Decade Team, including honorees from each of the 10 institutions that were football members at during the period. The Southland membership changed slightly during the decade, but the 2000s proved to be a relatively stable with the additions of new member Central Arkansas and a returning football program at Southeastern Louisiana.

"As the century turned and Y2K passed, the strength of Southland football remained constant, as the league remained competitively successful with outstanding individuals and teams," league commissioner Tom Burnett said. "As it always has, the league continued to compete at the highest level."

Lumberjack quarterback Jeremy Moses was selected as the 2000s player of the decade after becoming the first-ever Southland player to win the Walter Payton Award, signifying the nation's top FCS player, in 2010. During his 2007-10 career, Moses rewrote the Southland passing record book, establishing nine passing and three total offense records.

The 2009 and 2010 Player of the Year, and 2010 Offensive Player of the Year, Moses is the Southland's career passing leader with 13,401 yards and also threw for a Southland record 121 touchdowns. He led the league in passing during the 2008, 2009 and 2010 seasons, becoming only the second league quarterback to do so in three seasons.

The 2000s team includes 11 former SFA players. Players on the all-decade team include running back Derrick Blaylock, who went on to a six-year NFL career with the Kansas City Chiefs and New York Jets. Other SFA players include receivers Duane Brooks, Anthony Dingle and Dominique Edison, defensive backs David Crocker, Brent Hafford, Keldrick Holman, defensive lineman Tim Knicky, quarterback Wes Pate, and linebacker Jabara Williams.

Derrick Blaylock, RB, 2000                            
Duane Brooks, WR, 2009                          
David Crocker, DB, 2001 & 03
Anthony Dingle, WR, 2001-02
Dominique Edison, WR, 2008                            
Brent Hafford, DB, 2002-03                     
Keldrick Holman, DB, 2005-06
Tim Knicky, DL, 2008-09                     
Jeremy Moses, QB, 2010
Wes Pate, QB, 2010                                                                                             
Jabara Williams, LB, 2008-10


Get your official SFA Gear!