21 Lumberjacks Receive All-SLC Recognition

Junior Cordell Roberson was one of 21 Lumberjacks to receive All-SLC recognition Saturday.

Nov. 22, 2011

NACOGDOCHES, Texas - Defensive end Willie Jefferson highlights the 2011 All-Southland Conference teams that saw 21 Lumberjacks receive honors, including three first-team selections announced league officials Tuesday afternoon. SFA also had four second-team selections, and 14 honorable mention honorees, while Jefferson was named 2011 SLC Newcomer of the Year.

Receiver Cordell Roberson, offensive lineman George Bias and Jefferson garnered first-team recognition, while receiver Gralyn Crawford, defensive end Malcolm Mattox and linebacker Ryan Epperson were named to the second team. Crawford also garnered second-team honors as a return specialist.

A transfer from Baylor, Jefferson had a huge impact for the Lumberjack defense. He led the league with 16 sacks, and recorded two of the more memorable single-game performances in school and conference history. Jefferson broke the school record with 4.5 sacks in the win over McNeese State. Jefferson closed out the season with five sacks at Northwestern State to tie the conference record.

Both Roberson and Bias repeated as first-team selections. Roberson once again finished the season among the nation's elite receivers. He finished second in the conference in receptions (63) and receiving yards (794), while leading the conference with nine TD catches. After not catching a touchdown in the first four games of the season, Roberson became a go-to guy for sophomore quarterback Brady Attaway, hauling in nine TD receptions in the final seven games. Roberson enters his final season needing only four touchdown receptions to become the school's all-time leader.

A four-year starter, Bias has anchored an offensive line that led the nation in pass protection, despite putting the ball in the air nearly 600 times this season. Bias has protected the blind side for the SFA quarterbacks who finished the year ranked sixth in the nation in passing offense.

The school's all-time receptions leader, Crawford led the league and finished 12th in the nation with 72 receptions (6.6 pg). He also earned second-team honors as a return specialist averaging 23.7 yards per kick return and 13.5 yards per punt return. Crawford also returned a kick for a touchdown during the season.

Sophomore Malcolm Mattox and junior Ryan Epperson represented the SFA defense on the second team. Mattox recorded nine sacks on the season to place second in the league behind Jefferson. The duo combined to help the 'Jacks lead the nation in sacks.

After serving as a backup to All-American Jabara Williams, Epperson took ownership of his starting role in 2011. The Chandler, Texas, native led the SLC and finished among the nation's leaders with 113 tackles, including four for losses.

The 'Jacks also had 14 players named honorable mention All-SLC. Quarterback Brady Attaway, running backs Jeremy Barnes and Keith Lawson and offensive linemen Austin Wright and John Steel earned honorable mention honors on offense, while defensive end Jacob Fincher, linebackers Devin Ducote and Derrick Choice, defensive backs Josh Aubrey, Jordan Aubrey, Ben Wells and Caleb Nelson were named defensive squad. Freshman kicker Jordan Wiggs also received honorable mention honors.



Get your official SFA Gear!