SFA Celebrates Conference Championship Season

Dec. 10, 2009

NACOGDOCHES, Texas - The SFA athletics staff, along with the Lumberjack football team, coaches, managers and trainers gathered in the Champions Room Thursday morning to celebrate the 'Jacks' run to the Southland Conference title. SFA finished the 2009 regular season with a 9-2 overall record and won the program's third SLC title.

"This is a tradition that we started a few years ago to honor our conference champion teams," said Director of Athletics Robert Hill. "These guys worked very hard, and have come along way in the past two seasons. It was just another opportunity for our staff to say thank you for all their hard work."

Hill spoke to the packed room, that had the SLC Championship trophy, the Battle of the Piney Woods Trophy and Chief Caddo on display. Following Hill's comments, 2009 SLC Coach of the Year J.C. Harper spoke to the crowd.

"These guys worked so very hard to earn the right to be called Southland Conference Champions," said Harper. "I can't say enough about the leadership of our senior class. They were determined to put this program back on a winning track before they left, and they were able to close out their careers with a ring."

Along with their first conference title since 1999, the Lumberjacks also received the league's automatic bid to the NCAA FCS Playoffs for the first time since the 1995 season. SFA finished the season with a 10-3 overall record, which is the program's best record since 1995, and only the fourth time in school history the team has at least 10 games in a season.

After the season the individual honors came rolling in. SFA placed 20 names on the 2009 All-SLC squads including first-team selections Duane Brooks (WR), Karl Glimp (OL), Tim Knicky (DE), Jabara Williams (LB) and Cory Barlow (DB), and received several of the annual superlative honors. Harper was named coach of the year, junior quarterback Jeremy Moses earned SLC Co-Player of the Year honors, Knicky was named co-defensive player of the year and corner back Andre Banks was named SLC Newcomer of the Year.



Get your official SFA Gear!