The Official Home of Stephen F. Austin Athletics

    Two Lumberjack Golfers Earn Conference Honors
    Dustin Byrd named SLC Newcomer of the Year
    Dustin Byrd named SLC Newcomer of the Year

    April 23, 2004

    PLANO, Texas -- Two members of the Lumberjack golf team were among those selected to the All-Southland Conference golf teams in a release from the Southland Conference office Thursday. Junior Dustin Byrd and sophomore Brian Grossman, both from Mansfield, were among the 15 golfers named to the all-conference teams in a vote of conference head coaches following this week's conference championships.

    Grossman was selected to the second team after a sophomore season in which he won two tournaments and posted five top-10 finishes. Byrd was a third team selection and was also voted the Newcomer of the Year by the head coaches. Byrd finished third at the conference tournament, one stroke out of a playoff for the title.


    FIRST TEAM Chris Stroud Lamar Sr. Groves, Texas Mike Mezei Texas-San Antonio Sr. Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada Steven Tiley Southeastern Louisiana So. Canterbury, England Brett Bergeron Southeastern Louisiana So. LaPlace, La. Shawn Stefani Lamar So. Baytown, Texas

    SECOND TEAM Brian Grossman Stephen F. Austin So. Mansfield, Texas Kevin Messer Texas State Sr. Missouri City, Texas Bryan Vahlberg Louisiana-Monroe So. Norman, Okla. Adrien Mork McNeese State Sr. Montbeliard, France Casey Russell Louisiana-Monroe So. West Monroe, La.

    THIRD TEAM Robert (Scooter) Jefferson Sam Houston State Fr. Spring, Texas John Elizondo Texas-San Antonio So. San Antonio, Texas David Ward Sam Houston State Sr. Tyler, Texas Tyrone Mordt Texas-Arlington So. Johannesburg, South Africa Dustin Byrd Stephen F. Austin Jr. Fort Worth, Texas

    Honorable Mention: Tim Kunick, ULM; Jeremy Dean, SHSU; Michael Mulryan, SLU; Landon Allen, UTA.

    PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Chris Stroud, Lamar NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR: Dustin Byrd, Stephen F. Austin FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Robert (Scooter) Jefferson, Sam Houston State COACH OF THE YEAR: Richard Merritt, Louisiana-Monroe