SFA Honors Athletes at Annual Champions Dinner

Jeremy Moses and Kylie Louw named SFA male and female athletes of the year.

May 4, 2011

NACOGDOCHES, Texas - The Stephen F. Austin athletics department took a break from its competition schedule to honor its teams and student-athletes at the annual Champions Dinner in the Baker Pattillo Student Center Grand Ballroom Wednesday evening.

In addition to the individual honors that were handed out Wednesday, SFA also honored its three Southland Conference championship teams, which included football, women's cross country and women's track and field. The 'Jacks capped a historic season by earning top-10 national ranking and advancing to the NCAA FCS Playoffs for a second-straight year. It also marked the first time in program history that SFA has recorded back-to-back conference titles in football. The Ladyjack track and field team posted its third consecutive indoor conference title in 2011, and its fifth-straight overall (three indoor and two outdoor). The women's cross country team dominated the league championships by placing four runners in the top seven, winning the race by 44 points.

Every year the banquet is highlighted by the Ralph Todd and June Irwin Athletes of the Year awards. Senior quarterback Jeremy Moses was named the Ralph Todd male athlete of the year, while soccer standout Kylie Louw received June Irwin female athlete of the year honors.

Moses capped a record-setting career in 2010 by leading the Lumberjacks to consecutive top-10 rankings, and its second-straight appearance in the NCAA FCS Playoffs. A two-time SLC Player of the Year, Moses closes out his career as the school and conference's all-time leader in completions, touchdowns passes, passing yards, and yards of total offense. In his final collegiate game, he set a new NCAA FCS record for career completions (1,184). Following the season, Moses was named the 2010 Walter Payton Award recipient, becoming the first player in conference history to receive the national player of the year honor.

Kylie Louw was named the school's top female athlete after a standout season on the soccer field. A year after earning SLC Freshman of the Year honors, Louw was named the league player of the year in 2010. The sophomore from South Africa led the Southland in goals per game and paced SFA with 20 points, putting up seven goals and six assists. In addition to her All-SLC honors, Louw was named to the All-Central Region team and took first-team Academic All-Southland Conference honors.

The 2010 SLC Defensive Player of the Year, and a recent draft choice of the St. Louis Rams, linebacker Jabara Williams was named the recipient of the Dick Wright Award. A three-time first-team All-SLC selection, Williams capped an All-American career by posting 108 tackles, including 6.5 for losses in 2010. A two-time Buck Buchanan Award finalist, Williams finished his career with more than 400 tackles.

Senior defensive end Kenneth Charles was named the 2011 Steve McCarty Award winner following his All-American campaign. Charles, who was moved to a new position prior to the start of the 2010 season, responded by posting career numbers. Charles finished among the nation's top 15 in sacks and tackles for losses, while helping SFA remain the league's top defensive.

The Bob Shelton award was given to hoops standout, Eddie Williams. A former second-team All-SLC selection, Williams was the heart and soul of a Lumberjack team that was in the hunt for another regular-season conference title. Williams remained a constant during an injury-plagued season for the 'Jacks, averaging 8.0 points and 5.0 rebounds during his senior campaign.

2011 SFA Champions Dinner
Wednesday, May 4, 2010
Award Winners

Ralph Todd Award Jeremy Moses June Irwin Award Kylie Louw Steve McCarty Award Kenneth Charles Bob Shelton Award Eddie Williams Dick Wright Award Jabara Williams Kathy McGough Award Amy Shackelford Jené Carter Award Decreasha Goodner Mart Crawford Award Sean Warren Cally Belcher Award Kenneth Charles Scotty Bailess Award MC Bottles Michelle Reid Award Leslie Jackson Lucille Norton Award Tammara Marion Sue Gunter Award Jordan Ford Gary Blair Award Decreasha Goodner Pam Thorstensen Award Kylie Louw George Reese Award Mitchell McLeroy Ladyjack Golf MVP Noelle Willcoxon Ladyjack Bowling MVP Nicole Parkhurst Dianne Baker Award Alina Shazhko Robert Maluski Award Xavier Rodriguez Gwen Cole Award Stephanie Ganter Buddy Lowery Award Eddie Williams George Johnson Award Jereal Scott

Murray Shaw Awards Baseball Jared West Men's Golf Jordan Wynn Women's Golf Allison Flake Men's Basketball Jordan Glynn Women's Basketball Decreasha Goodner Soccer Abby Susman Softball Lauren Luetge Tennis Meaghan Ocanas Women's Track & Field/Cross Country Amy Shackelford/Carrie Hahn/Macy Wade Men's Track & Field/Cross Country Adam Saloom Football Calib Hadnot Volleyball Sabrina Burns/Madison Hanlan Bowling Sierra Gibbons


Get your official SFA Gear!