The Official Home of Stephen F. Austin Athletics

    Ladyjack Soccer Tabbed No. 1
    The Ladyjacks are ranked first in SLC preseason polls
    The Ladyjacks are ranked first in SLC preseason polls

    Aug. 10, 2006

    FRISCO, Texas - A year after posting the first undefeated, untied league championship in Southland Conference history, the Stephen F. Austin Ladyjack soccer team is predicted to win its third straight conference crown, according to preseason polls released Thursday by SLC officials. The Ladyjacks were voted the top team in the conference in polling of league head coaches and sports information directors.

    SFA edged out Northwestern State in the head coaches' poll, earning 60 points to the Lady Demons' 59. The Ladyjacks received five first-place votes, while Northwestern State picked up three. In polling of conference sports information directors, SFA earned six first-place votes and tallied 75 points, while Northwestern State got one first-place nod and picked up 70 points. Texas State finished third in both polls.

    The Ladyjacks are coming off a record 14-4-0 season that stands as the highest single-season winning percentage (.778) in school history. SFA went 7-0-0 in league play to win its second straight conference crown after tying for the title in 2004. The Ladyjacks return two All-SLC players from a year ago, and second-year head coach Jaime Frias' 2006 recruiting class was ranked regionally in the Top 25 by Soccer Buzz Magazine.

    SFA opens the 2006 season at home against Grambling State on Sunday, Aug. 27.

    -- SFA --

    Coaches Poll                   SID Poll
    Stephen F. Austin (5)   60     Stephen F. Austin (6)   75
    Northwestern State (3)  59     Northwestern State (1)  70
    Texas State             52     Texas State (1)         64
    McNeese State           35     Sam Houston State (1)   48
    Sam Houston State       31     McNeese State           42
    Southeastern Louisiana  29     Southeastern Louisiana  37
    Texas-San Antonio	26     Central Arkansas        31
    Central Arkansas	20     Texas-San Antonio       21
    Nicholls State          12     Nicholls State          17

    (First-place votes in parenthesis)