The Official Home of Stephen F. Austin Athletics

    Stephen F. Austin Soccer Lands Players On All-SLC Team
    Horn named to All-SLC second team.
    Horn named to All-SLC second team.

    DALLAS - Britiany Cargill, a junior forward from Northwestern State University, has been named the Southland Conference Soccer Player of the Year in a vote of the league?s head coaches. ?

    The Friendswood, Texas, native helped the Demons to their first-ever regular season title.?She currently leads the Southland in goals with 14 and is tied with Southwest Texas' Jessica Armendariz for most points at 33, both Conference records.?Cargill was twice named the Conference?s offensive player of the week and guided a Demon offense that scored a league-leading 2.55 goals per game. ?

    Northwestern State?s Jimmy Mitchell received the Coach of the Year nod from his peers after posting a 13-7, 10-2 record en route to the school?s first-ever league regular season crown.?The second-year head coach has his team on a seven-game winning streak heading into the Southland championship tournament. ?

    Reta Derouin, a junior forward from Southwest Texas, has been tapped Newcomer of the Year.?Derouin, who hails from Maple Ridge, British Columbia, is in her first year in the Southland after transferring to SWT from the University of Texas at El Paso. ?

    Freshman of the Year honors go to Southeastern Louisiana?s Cory Cochrane, a forward from Nanaimo, British Columbia.?Cochrane tallied 10 goals and six assists for 26 points, the most of any freshman in the league. ?

    The Southland head coaches voted on the all-conference teams by position with three forwards, three midfielders, three defenders, one goalkeeper, and one at-large player being selected for each team. ?

    2000 All-Southland Conference

    First Team Name Class Pos. University Hometown/Previous School Britiany Cargill Jr. F Northwestern State Friendswood, Texas/Friendswood HS Jessica Armendariz So. F Southwest Texas El Paso, Texas/Eastwood HS Cory Cochrane Fr. F Southeastern Louisiana Nanamio, B.C./Dover Bay Secondary Candice Kocian (at-large) So. F Southwest Texas Brenham, Texas/Baylor Jacqualyn Lawrence Fr. MF Northwestern State Grand Blanc, Mich./Grand Blanc HS Melissa Payne Jr. MF Northwestern State The Woodlands, Texas/Woodlands HS Becca Weingartner Jr. MF Southeastern Louisiana Littleton, Colo./Columbine HS Marva Bailey So. D Southwest Texas College Station, Texas/A&M Consolidated HS Erica Welter Jr. D Southeastern Louisiana Houston, Texas/Clear Lake HS Hillarie Marshall Fr. D Northwestern State San Diego, Calif./San Marcos HS Tiffany Swingler Jr. GK Northwestern State Austin, Texas/McNeil HS

    Second Team Allison Crain Fr. F Southwest Texas Corpus Christi, Texas/Incarnate Word Acad. Nicole Horn Fr. F Stephen F. Austin Spring, Texas/Spring HS Kim Robinson Fr. F Nicholls State Comox, B.C./Highland Secondary Kara Muessig So. MF Southwest Texas Houston, Texas/Westfield HS Kim Weber Jr. MF Northwestern State Tempe, Ariz./Mesa Junior College Sarah Wiebe Fr. MF Southwest Texas Spring, Texas/Klein Oak HS Shannon Tenney (at-large) Jr. MF Northwestern State Gilbert, Ariz./Mesa Junior College Holly Horn Sr. D Northwestern State Lafayette, La./Louisiana State Logan Marlor So. D Southeastern Louisiana Duluth, Ga./Duluth HS Erin Mosely So. D Louisiana-Monroe Missouri City, Texas/Elkins HS Nicole Helmig Fr. GK Southeastern Louisiana Pensacola, Fla./Pine Forest HS

    Honorable Mention Cindy Barker, Louisiana-Monroe, Victoria Lamb, Louisiana-Monroe, Jamie Pawlik, Louisiana-Monroe, Jessica Robinson, Louisiana-Monroe, Chelsea Shriner, Louisiana-Monroe, Joy Keating, McNeese State, Haleigh Lyons, McNeese State, Tracy Passafiume, Nicholls State, Nina Myullyluoma, Northwestern State, Jamie Brown, Southeastern Louisiana, Leah Chandler, Southeastern Louisiana, Amanda Wheatley, Southwest Texas, Season Settle, Stephen F. Austin.

    Player of the Year - Britiany Cargill, junior, forward, Northwestern State

    Newcomer of the Year - Reta Derouin, junior, forward, Southwest Texas

    Freshman of the Year - Cory Cochrane, forward, Southeastern Louisiana

    Coach of the Year - Jimmy Mitchell, Northwestern State