Softball Places Nine On 50th Anniversary Team

The Ladyjacks had nine players named to the 50th Anniversary Team on Thursday.

May 30, 2013

Click Here For The Complete SLC All-Time Softball Roster

FRISCO, Texas – As the Southland Conference commemorates its 50th Anniversary in 2013, the league announced its all-time softball roster consisting of over 80 student-athletes that starred on the diamond, which included a league-high nine Stephen F. Austin Ladyjacks.

The nine Ladyjacks honored were Denise Batchelor (OF, 1989-92), Briana Bishop (3B, 2007-10), Monika Covington (P, 2008-11), Sandy Green (P, 1987-90), Kayla Gutkowski (1B, 2009-10), Kendal Harper (OF, 2007-10), Shelley Squires (OF, 1991-94), Shandy Ward (OF, 1998-99) and Gina Webb (1B, 1988-91).

The Southland developed a metric that measured real-time honors throughout the league’s softball history that dates back to 1983. A premium was placed on first-team all-conference selections, individual honors, season and career statistics, and postseason success.

The trio of Bishop, Covington and Harper were all members of both the 2008 SLC Tournament Championship team as well as the 2010 regular season title champs. Bishop was an SLC First-Team selection both in 2009 and 2010 and led the league in home runs and slugging percentage in 2009. In 2008, Bishop led the league in walks and was named to the All-Tournament Team.

Covington was a three-time SLC First-Teamer (2008-10), and in 2008 was the SLC Freshman of the Year while leading the league in ERA, wins, shutouts, innings pitched and strikeouts. Covington was later named the 2008 SLC Tournament MVP and earned a spot on the All-Tournament Team.

Harper, who is currently an assistant coach for the Ladyjacks, earned First-Team honors in both 2009 and 2010 and was named the 2010 SLC Player of the Year. The Palmer, Texas native also led the league in stolen bases in 2008.

Gutkowski, a native of Tomball, Texas, was an offensive force for the Ladyjacks in both 2009 and 2010 when she was named the SLC Hitter of the Year in each season and was named an SLC First-Teamer in both seasons as well. In 2009 Gutkowski led the league with 41 RBI.

Ward was an SLC First-Team selection in both 1998 and 1999 and was named the ’98 Hitter of the Year while leading the league in batting average and total hits. Squires, a native of Houston, Texas, was an SLC First-Team selection in both 1993 and 1994.

Batchelor (1989-92), Green (1987-90) and Webb (1988-91) had their careers intertwine in the 1989 and 1990 seasons. All three were members of the 1990 SLC Tournament championship squad.

Batchelor was an SLC First-Teamer in both 1989 and 1991 while Green dominated in the circle. Green was the SLC Player of the Year in both 1989 and 1990, leading the league in ERA and innings pitched both seasons. Green was also the 1990 SLC Tournament MVP. Webb was a four-time SLC First-Team selection (1988-91) and led the SLC in home runs in 1989.



Get your official SFA Gear!